Syncing your stage view with everyone

When you use Stack or Side by side view, the active speaker or shared content appears in a customizable area, called the stage. As the host or cohost, you can sync your stage with everyone else in the meeting or event. As you add or remove people from the stage, other participants see those changes in real time. When you sync your stage, an indicator appears, letting you know that you're syncing. To learn more about the stage, see Video layouts in Webex Meetings and Webex Events.

You can also lock the view of attendees so that they only see what's on your stage. Locking the attendee view prevents attendees from changing their view or customizing their stage. It also hides the video thumbnails of participants.


Your synced stage doesn't appear for participants who join using a video device, or from a live stream.

If you sync your stage with everyone, the first person that you add to the stage appears in meeting or event recordings instead of the active speaker. If you want to record the active speaker instead of the first person on the stage, contact support.

For more information about the known issues and limitations of syncing your stage, see the Known issues and limitations for video layouts.

1

Click Layout > Sync my stage for everyone.

2

(Optional) If you want to limit the attendees view to just the stage, check Lock attendee view on stage only.


 

You can also select Lock attendee view on stage only from the Layout menu once you start syncing.

3

Click Sync.

4

To stop syncing your stage, click Stop in the syncing indicator.

1

Tap Layout and toggle on Sync My Stage for everyone.

2

Select one of the following options:

  • Sync Stage Only—Syncs your stage, but attendees can still move other participants to their stage.
  • Sync and Lock Attendee View—Syncs your stage and prevents participants from making any changes to their stage.
3

To stop syncing your stage, tap Layout and then toggle off Sync My Stage for Everyone.

You can sync the video of a specific participant if you started your meeting or event from an iPhone or Android phone. Participants who joined from the desktop app, web app, or using an iPad or Android tablet see the synced video on their stage. Participants who join from an iPhone or Android phone see the synced video pinned in their current view.

1

Tap the video of the participant that you want to sync, and then tap Sync Video for Everyone.

2

Tap Lock.

3

To stop syncing, tap the synced participant video, and then tap Unsync Video for Everyone or Stop syncing video for everyone.


 

When you stop syncing, everyone view stays in the most recent configuration.