This article is about Webex assistant for Meetings. For information on Webex devices, read Closed Captioning on Board, Desk, Room Series.

When real-time translation is on, a person's speech is automatically translated into captions that appear above the meeting or webinar controls. The captions panel on the right side shows the selected spoken language.

Real-time translation is supported as a paid add-on for Webex Meetings, Webex Webinars (not available for webinars in webcast view), and meetings started from Webex App. Meetings started or joined from a space in Webex App don't support real-time translation. As long as the host has an active Real-time translation license, guests will have access to this feature.

Real-time translation has expanded. The 42.2 update supports translation for 13 spoken languages that can be captioned into 100 different languages with an RTT license. The 42.5 update supports the free spoken languages found in Supported Languages without an RTT license.

Webex for Government doesn't support real-time translation.


Your site administrator must enable real-time translation for Meetings and Webinars.


Select Show closed captions.

If you don't see Show closed captions, see Turn on or turn off Webex Assistant during meeting or webinar.


Select Translation options for closed captions and choose the language that you want the speech translated.


Not all dialects are included in translation.

Each participant can select their own preferred language to translate to. The maximum number of unique languages that can be used at the same time in a meeting is five.


Tap More options > Closed Captions .


Toggle on Closed Captions.


Tap Choose Language and select the language you want to translate speech.


Not all dialects are included in translation.

Each participant can select their own preferred language for us to translate to. The maximum number of unique languages that can be used concurrently in a meeting is five.


Exit out of the options to save these settings.

By default, 5 spoken languages for transcription are included for free to users with Webex Assistant or automated closed captions:

  • English

  • French

  • German

  • Spanish

  • Italian

With the Real-time Translation license, these features are expanded to 13 total spoken languages and 100+ caption languages.

Spoken Languages:

  • Chinese, Mandarin (Simplified)

  • Chinese, Mandarin (Traditional)

  • Dutch

  • Hindi

  • Japanese

  • Korean

  • Polish

  • Portuguese


The maximum number of unique caption languages that can be used at the same time in a meeting or webinar is five. Not all dialects are included in translation.

Caption Languages:

  • Afrikaans

  • Albanian

  • Amharic

  • Arabic

  • Armenian

  • Azerbaijani

  • Basque

  • Belarusian

  • Bengali

  • Bosnian

  • Bulgarian

  • Catalan

  • Cebuano

  • Chinese (Simplified)

  • Chinese (Traditional)

  • Corsican

  • Croatian

  • Czech

  • Danish

  • Dutch

  • English

  • Esperanto

  • Estonian

  • Finnish

  • French

  • Frisian

  • Galician

  • Georgian

  • German

  • Greek

  • Gujarati

  • Haitian Creole

  • Hausa

  • Hawaiian

  • Hebrew

  • Hindi

  • Hmong

  • Hungarian

  • Icelandic

  • Igbo

  • Indonesian

  • Irish

  • Italian

  • Japanese

  • Javanese

  • Kannada

  • Kazakh

  • Khmer

  • Kinyarwanda

  • Korean

  • Kurdish

  • Kyrgyz

  • Lao

  • Latin

  • Latvian

  • Lithuanian

  • Luxembourgish

  • Macedonian

  • Malagasy

  • Malay

  • Malayalam

  • Maltese

  • Maori

  • Marathi

  • Mongolian

  • Myanmar (Burmese)

  • Nepali

  • Norwegian

  • Nyanja (Chichewa)

  • Odia

  • Pashto

  • Persian

  • Polish

  • Portuguese (Portugal, Brazil)

  • Punjabi

  • Romanian

  • Russian

  • Samoan

  • Scots Gaelic

  • Serbian

  • Sesotho

  • Shona

  • Sindhi

  • Sinhala (Sinhalese)

  • Slovak

  • Slovenian

  • Somali

  • Spanish

  • Sundanese

  • Swahili

  • Swedish

  • Tagalog (Filipino)

  • Tajik

  • Tamil

  • Tatar

  • Telugu

  • Thai

  • Turkish

  • Turkmen

  • Ukranian

  • Urdu

  • Uyghur

  • Uzbek

  • Vietnamese

  • Welsh

  • Xhosa

  • Yiddish

  • Yoruba

  • Zulu

If the meeting or webinar was recorded, then the recording video's embedded transcript will show the transcription for the portions of the meeting in English only. If Webex Assistant was also available (either on or off) in the recorded meeting or webinar, then the Review tab under Calendar will show the transcription in the selected spoken language. Currently, neither transcript will show the caption (translation) language.

Turning on closed captions without turning on Webex Assistant for Meetings is available on a delayed release cycle. If this feature is not available on your site, meeting or webinar, then you must turn on Webex Assistant to access closed captions.


Webex Assistant and automated closed captions for all paid-plans are available for 41.7 and later sites. These features are on an independent release schedule. Check to see when it is available on your site. Search for 'Closed Captions Available to All Paid Plans' and 'Webex Assistant Available to All Paid Plans.'